Menu Close

MAC Scholarships

The Mineralogical Association of Canada will fund two scholarships yearly to graduate students. One $3000 scholarship to a student enrolled in an MSc program and one $5000 scholarship to a student in a PhD program, in the following fields of study

  • Mineralogy
  • Crystallography
  • Geochemistry
  • Mineral deposits
  • Petrology


  • Applications and supervisor/referee letters of support may be sent electronically or in the mail, and must be received by May 1st
  • Official academic transcripts (undergraduate and graduate) must be sent in the mail directly from the institution and received by May 14th  In view of the current Covid-19 pandemic, we could, exceptionally for this year award, show some flexibility with the receipt of the official transcripts.  In the eventuality that, upon your request, you are unable to reach the institution administration or that you are notified the deadline to mail the official transcript may not be met, please, provide an unofficial transcript that you should be able to get from the university online system. An official transcript will have to be released prior to the actual awarding of funds.


  • Students of any nationality entering the second year of an MSc program or the second or third year of a PhD program at a Canadian university in September.
  • Canadian citizens enrolled in the above or equivalent programs at any university.

Application forms

For more information please contact Johanne Caron 

Posters for Promotion
Supervisors are invited to print and display the Scholarship posters within their institution and to encourage their students to apply.

Download poster:
English 2022     French 2022

Previous winners:

Colton Vessey, 2021
Miranda Holt, 2021
Rebecca Morris, 2020
Laura Mateo, 2020
Christoffer Beckett-Brown, 2019
Derek Leung, 2019
Matthew Manor, 2018
Erin Gibbons, 2018
Bryan Maciag, 2017
Corwin Trottier, 2017
Jillian Kendrick, 2016
Justin Drummond, 2016
Peter Crockford, 2015
Philippe Belley, 2015
Nicolle Dupuis, 2014
Jesse Reimink, 2014
Amy Ryan, 2013
David Turner, 2013
Olivier Gagné, 2012
Mitchell Kerr, 2012
Melissa Anderson, 2011
Matthew R. M. Izawa, 2011
Melanie Cousineau, 2010
Luke Hilchie, 2010
Guillaume Lesage , 2009
Kathleen A. Smart , 2009
Ernesto Pecoits, 2008
Siobhan A. (Sasha) Wilson, 2006
Jason MacKenzie, 2005
Murray Allan, 2004
Jacob Hanley, 2003
Daniel Layton-Matthews, 2002
Andrew Locock, 2001
Martin Stewart, 2000
Shannon Farrell, 1999