Menu Close

Prof. Dingwell named a member of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

Prof. Donald Bruce Dingwell, Chair of Mineralogy and Petrology and Director of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at the Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich, joins approximately 120 members of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The order will be conferred by the crown’s representative and Chancellor of the Order, the Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, in an investiture at Government House, St. John’s.

The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador is the highest honour of the province. The object of the Order is to recognize individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavor, benefiting in an outstanding manner, Newfoundland and Labrador.

Prof. Dingwell was born and raised at Corner Brook, Newfoundland and worked towards his first University degree at Memorial University, first in Corner Brook and then in St. John’s (1975-1980).

May 7, 2021

The geoscientist Prof. Donald Bruce Dingwell (Peacock Medallist 2015), Chair of Mineralogy and Petrology and current Director of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences has been elected to the Royal Society in recognition of his scientific achievements.

Each year, the Royal Society elects up to 52 Fellows and 10 Foreign Fellows to its ranks. The Royal Society is currently composed of ca. 1700 Fellows.

Prof. Dingwell is active in the field of experimental geomaterials research, with primary applications in petrology and volcanology. An example of his latest research appears this month in Nature.

Dingwell has received numerous national, European and international awards. After the Royal Society of Canada, the Academia Europaea, acatech, and the Leopoldina, this is the 5th academy election for Prof. Dingwell.

As of Wednesday, August 17th, we have been experiencing technical difficulties with our office server and are unable to fully utilize our business office emails. We will do our best to follow up with these as soon as our server issue is resolved, however, there is a chance that some emails will not make it to our inbox. Please feel free to use our chat option below to contact us in the interim.