Menu Close

Pinch Medal

The Pinch medal is awarded every other year since 2001 to recognize major and sustained contributions to the advancement of mineralogy by members of the collector-dealer community.

This medal is named for William Wallace Pinch of Rochester, New York, in recognition of his enormous and selfless contributions to mineralogy through the identification of ideal specimens for study and through his generosity in making them available to the academic community.

Nominations for the 2021 medal will be accepted until May 1, 2020

Please submit your nominations to:
Andrew M. McDonald
Department of Earth Sciences
Laurentian University
Sudbury, ON P3E 2C6
Phone: 705-675-1151 ext 2266

Each nomination should consist of a letter describing in detail the contributions of the nominee and a list of publications resulting from the nominee’s contributions (the nominee is not required to be an author of these publications); additional supporting letters are welcome.

The medal will typically be awarded at the TUCSON GEM AND MINERAL SHOW, following the selection of the recipient by the award committee and approval by MAC Council.

Georges Favreau (2021)
Gail Dunning (2019)
Peter Tarassoff (2017)
Joe Marty (2015)
Renato and Adriana Pagano (2013)
Alf Olav Larsen (2011)
Roy Kristiansen (2009)
Laszlo (Les) Horvath and Elsa Pfenninger-Horvath (2007)
Charles L. Key (2005)
Mark Feinglos (2003)
William Pinch (2001)