Menu Close

Peacock Medal

The Peacock Medal is awarded to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the mineral sciences in Canada.

There is no restriction regarding nationality or residency. The medal is intended to recognize the breadth and universality of these contributions in mineralogy, applied mineralogy, petrology, crystallography, geochemistry or the study of mineral deposits rather than in a narrow area of expertise.

A committee of three Past Presidents, chaired by the immediate Past President, considers all nominations received.

Nominations should be accompanied by a one-page explanation of the merits of your nominee and forwarded to Dr. Andrew Conly by December 31:

Andrew Conly
Department of Geology
Lakehead University
955 Oliver Road
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 5E1
Phone: 807-343-8463, 807-346-7823
E-mail: by December 31

Previous recipients of the medal are:

Roberta L. Flemming (2022)
Thomas Stachel (2021)
Simon Jackson (2020)
Susan L. S. Stipp (2019)
Stearns A. Morse (2018)
Heather E. Jamieson (2017)
Peter C. Burns (2016)
Donald Bruce Dingwell (2015)
Don R. Baker (2014)
David R.M. Pattison (2013)
Dante L. Canil (2012)
Daniel J. Kontak (2011)
Brian J. Fryer (2010)
Don Francis (2009)
Kelly Russell (2008)
Sarah-Jane Barnes (2007)
Joel D. Grice (2006)
Anthony E. Williams-Jones (2005)
Fred Wicks (2004)
Ed Ghent (2003)
John L. Jambor (2002)
Kurt Kyser (2001)
Greg Anderson (2000)
Frank C. Hawthorne (1999)
Fred J. Longstaffe (1998)
Mike E. Fleet (1997)
Thomas E. Krogh (1996)
Hugh Greenwood (1995)
Roger Mitchell (1994)
Louis Cabri (1993)
Robert Boyle (1992)
Tony Naldrett (1991)
Lincoln Hollister (1990)
Rob Kerrich (1989)
Steve Scott (1988)
Peter Roeder (1987)
Don Sangster (1986)
Denis Shaw (1985)
Petr Černy (1984)
Gabrielle Donnay (1983)
Len Berry (1982)

We are in the process of finalizing a new system for 2023 membership and subscription renewals. This will be available soon.