Menu Close

About MAC

Mineralogical Association of Canada (MAC) was formed in 1955 as a non-profit scientific organization to promote and advance the knowledge of mineralogy and the allied disciplines of crystallography, petrology, geochemistry and mineral deposits.

MAC has a commitment to further public awareness of mineral sciences and promote excellence by giving out several medals and awards; two yearly scholarships of $5000, one to a MSc student and one to a PhD student; Travel and Research grants to assist honours undergraduate and graduate students in the mineral sciences; and the top student in introductory mineralogy course at each Canadian university can be nominated to receive the annual MAC Student Award.

Through annual meetings, short courses, publications and sponsored symposia, the Association provides a forum for the presentation and dissemination of current knowledge and advances to the worldwide community of earth scientists.

Executive Council

President (2022-2024)
Dan Marshall
Earth Sciences Department
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Dr
Burnaby, BC  V5A 1S6
Phone: 778-782-5474
Fax: 778-782-4198
Home Page

Vice President (2022-2024)
Frederick Ford
Vale Canada Ltd.
Base Metals Process
Technology and Innovation
2060 Flavelle Blvd.
Sheridan Park
Mississauga, Ontario L5K 1Z9

Past President (2022-2024)
Andrew Conly
Lakehead University
955 Oliver Road
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 5E1
Phone: 807-343-8463, 807-346-7823
Home Page

Philippe Belley
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Earth Sciences
40 Arctic Ave
St. John’s, NL A1B 3X7

Rémy S. Poulin
Dép. des Sciences Appliquées
Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
555, boul. de l’Université
Chicoutimi, QC, G7H 2B1
Phone: 705-675-1151 ext 6575

Finance Committee Chairman
David McDonald
Assessments, Accounts and Benefits Processing Officer
Canada Revenue Agency
T1 Adjustments Department
310 Ash Street
Sudbury, ON P3C 1Z8
Phone: 705-923-0996

Councilors to May 2023
Crystal LaFlamme
Université Laval
Dépt. de Géologie & de Génie-Géologique
Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot
Québec, QC G1K 7P4
Phone: 418-656-2131
Fax: 418-656-7339

Fred Gaidies
Department of Earth Sciences
2115 Herzberg Laboratories
Carleton University
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1S 5B6
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext 4435
Home Page

Councilors to May 2024
Dr. Emmanuelle Cecchi
445, Blvd de l’Universite
Rouyn-Noranda QC J9X 5E4
Phone : 819-762-0971 ext 2573
Email :
Home Page

Dr Brian O’Driscoll
The University of Manchester
Earth and Environmental Sciences – Academic & Research
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Oxford Rd Manchester M13 9PL
United Kingdom
Home page

Councilors to 2025
Dr. L. Paul Bédard
Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
Pavillon principal
Département des sciences appliquées
Bureau P4-3030
555, boulevard de l’Université
Chicoutimi QC G7H 2B1
Phone: 418-545-5011 ext 2276
Toll free: 1 800 463-9880 poste 2276
Fax: 418-545-5012
Home page

Mr. Benjamin Williams, P.Geo
Project Geologist
Transition Metals Corp.
Phone:  705-669-1777 ext 204